BOARD MEETING SUMMARY



Board of Education Meeting · January 16, 2019

Celebrating 25 years!

Mr. David Hunter was recognized for his 25 years of service as a Board member.



The National Anthem was sung by Hiawatha, McGregor, Monac and Wernert elementary students.

Building Celebration of Excellence was presented by Mr. Sean Flemmings, Monac Elementary.

January is School Board Recognition Month. Dr. Hayward read a Proclamation recognizing all members of the Washington Local School Board.

Board Approved:



- ➤ Board Minutes from December 8 and December 19, 2018
- ➤ Financial Report and Investments
- ➤ Payment of Legal Fees
- ➤ Administrative Services Agreement for Self-Funded Dental Benefit Plan
- > Establish Scholarship Fund: Paul R. Schlegel
- ➤ Establish Scholarship Fund: Whitmer High School
- ➤ Gifts & Donations:
 - ~Nisource Charitable Foundation
 - ~Goodwill Industries of NW Ohio
 - ~Matthew Berman
- ➤ Purchases Over \$25,000 / Camera & Monitoring ~Guardian Alarm \$89,535.60
- ➤ Community Transit Services (CTS), Additional Funds: \$25,000
- ➤ Board of Education Bylaws & Policies
- ➤ Board of Education: Policy / Credit Cards Revised

Board Approved - Continued:

- ➤ Job Description: Dispatcher
- ➤ Real Estate Purchase Agreement: New Hope Evangelical Lutheran Church -\$100,000
- Personnel: Retirement,
 Resignations, Nominations for
 2018-19 and Change of Contracts
- ➤ Law Firm Contract Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP ("Taft") -\$5,000

Levy Discussion regarding an Operating and/or Bond Levy (new facilities) for the November 2019 election.

2019: UPCOMING BOARD MEETINGS

<u>Date</u>	<u>Time</u>
Wednesday, February 6 - Superintendent's Evaluation	6:00 p.m.
Wednesday, February 20	6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, February 26 - Treasurer's Evaluation	6:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 2 - Work Session	8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, March 20	6:00 p.m.

The Board Meeting Calendar is established each January at the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Education.

2019 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBERS

PRESIDENT – MARK HUGHES VICE PRESIDENT - LISA CANALES

THOMAS ILSTRUP
DAVID HUNTER
CHRIS SHARP

SUPERINTENDENT	DR. SUSAN M. HAYWARI
Treasurer	JEFFERY S. FOUKE